Senior Voice -

Photos from: Seward's folly was his greatest source of pride

Alaska State Library, Alaska and Arctic-Related Illustrations, ASL-P62-061

On March 30, 1867, U.S. Secretary of State William H. Seward signed the treaty with Russia that transferred possession of Alaska to America. In this painting by Emanuel Leutze, those at the signing were, from left to right: Robert S. Chew, William H. Seward, William Hunter, Mr. Bodisco, Russian diplomat Baron de (Eduard) Stoeckl, U.S. Sen. Charles Sumner and Frederick W. Seward.

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020